Advanced Search
Reader Bar Color:
User Guides
Reading Tools


Balance of Power

In the last lesson, we looked at the three branches of government:

  • Legislative branch (Congress): Makes laws
  • Executive branch (President, Vice President, etc.): Carries out laws
  • Judicial branch (Courts, including the Supreme Court): Interprets laws

Each of these branches depends on the cooperation of at least one of the other branches in order to carry out its duties.

For example, the legislative branch cannot make a law without the approval of the executive branch (president).