Advanced Search
Reader Bar Color:
User Guides
Reading Tools


Southern Colonies

There were five Southern Colonies:

  • Virginia
  • Maryland
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Georgia

All of them grew tobacco. At first, tobacco was Virginia's only crop. Cotton came later. North and South Carolina exported tobacco, indigo and rice. Large planters held most of the land. And most of the political power. Self-government started early in the South. Small farmers took part in politics too.